Make a Decision to be a Miracle-Worker!

I wanted to take some time out today to encourage people to go forth do the works of Jesus. We launched Demonstrate It about just a few months ago and the response has been nothing short of overwhelming. However, many people I am finding out need to be encouraged. Our ministry is not so much about healing as its about showing believer’s authority. It is simply telling everyone wherever we go, that the Bible in fact means what is says.

I think over the years instead of just receiving what the Word says, we try to rationalize certain scriptures that our minds simply cannot grasp. For example, in Mark 16, Jesus said clearly that the signs of those that believe would cast out devils, speak with new tongues and lay hands on the sick and they would recover (I’m paraphrasing). Some church might say, ‘Well, he wasn’t speaking to all Christians, just his early followers.  In another place, in James, it says the prayer of faith shall save the sick.  This is just 2 examples, but over and over, all throughout scripture we have concrete evidence as to what the will of God is. (Sidenote- if it is in the Word, then it IS the will of God).  However, most churches today, will go against these scriptures and justify it by saying a particular scripture was for these people, or this scripture was for this time, and so on.

Regardless of my or anyone else’s experience the ultimate authority is the Word of God. Jesus said there are only 2 reasons why you have not received something in the Word that you have a right to 1) your unbelief 2) your tradition has made the Word of God of no effect (Mark 7).  Traditions are teachings and doctrines that have been passed down over the generations that are not Bible-based, yet people believe them as such. For example, the belief that healings, miracles, tongues, and prophecies have passed away.  Many people truly believe this, however, there is a deep desire in a person’s innermost being that wants to hear directly from God.  Both saved and unsaved people want to know the divine will and purpose for their lives. Should I take this job? Should I marry this guy? A person that truly wants to hear from God, yet believes he no longer speaks today will find themselves at some demonic psychic trying to find out the future. Or seeing some witchdoctor to heal them when the medicine is not working. Or morally degrading or compromising their beliefs for some extra money to pay bills.

Everything in the kingdom of God is based upon belief. Without belief, we have nothing, no experience of any kind. However, this is the exact opposite of the how world thinks. They say things like, ‘When I see it, I’ll believe it’.  Even in science, the premise is to see it, experience it, and test it (and test it again), then we’ll believe it. In the kingdom you must believe it first, then you can see it and experience it.  If you don’t believe it first, and act upon what you believe, you will NEVER experience it ever.

Here are some words of wisdom for those who have a hard time believing a particular promise in the Bible. Act like you believe it is so (even before you see it), and then it will happen because you acted upon it.  Don’t wait on some ‘feeling’ or even a ‘Word’ from heaven (you have his Word in the Bible), just go for it.  When I decided that I was going to lay hands on the sick and see them healed it was just a decision in my mind. I had never done it before. I had just seen my Pastor do it, I had seen ministers on television do it, and I had even read about evangelists in the 30s, 40s, and 50s do it. But all of this meant nothing until I made up my mind to do it myself.  I was on a college campus, a few hours before a service we were having, and I came across a man on campus walking on crutches.

Now I didn’t feel anything. I didn’t hear the Holy Spirit tell me to go pray for him. I didn’t see 3 angels circling around him with harps and gold dust. I just knew what the Word says concerning healing, and this man needed healing. Keep in mind I had never done anything like this before. My mind was telling me I would look like a fool in front of everybody on this campus. Yet the Word instructed me what to do. I asked him if he wanted to be healed today, because it said in the Bible that healing will come if I lay hands on him. (He had severe pain in his foot, and could not put weight on it). He looked at me like I was crazy, but he allowed me pray for him. Now also keep in mind I didn’t pray a 5 minute traditional church prayer such as ‘Oh Lord, the great and powerful mighty One of Israel, if it be in thy will to heal this young man…’ My prayer  was about 10 seconds long. Actually it wasn’t even a prayer, I spoke directly to his foot, just as Jesus spoke directly to the fig tree. I layed hands on it and commanded his foot to be healed right now in Jesus name.  Then I asked him to move it around to see if there was any pain there. He had a look of surprise on his face and said the pain had gone down a lot and he was very thankful.  Truthfully I was probably more surprised than he was. Not that I didn’t believe in the healing power of God, but actually seeing it in action is a totally different ball game. So I told him I would pray for him again, because we wanted his foot 100% pain free. After the second time he was pain free and no longer needed the crutches.

Also, after the healing he was more open to hear about the gospel, considering Jesus had just visited him personally.  For those of you who minister, it is one thing to preach about how how Jesus walked around healing the sick in Capernaum and Galilee 2,000 years ago. It is a whole different story to actually demonstrate Jesus healing people in 2011 in Times Square in New York City. That day before we even had service, the power of God showed up everywhere we went, we were laying hands all over campus, prophesying to people, and leading many to Christ. I truly believe that in this day, the greatest move of God is going to the United States. And what is going to make this revival different from the ones in the 30’s, 40, and 60s is that it is not going to take place in the church.  It is going to take place in the sporting arenas, grocery stores, bars, and streetcorners. Make a decision today that God is going use you for this great revival. It is now time for you to get plugged in!

Quit talking about the gospel and Demonstrate It!

Troy Anthony Smith is a successful entrepreneur, author, and the founder of Demonstrate It, an organization that believes in healings, signs, and wonders. Mr. Smith currently resides in Hollywood,CA, where he can be found at the grocery stores, malls, and street corners, laying hands on the sick, casting out demons, and declaring the good news of the kingdom of God.

3 Responses to “Make a Decision to be a Miracle-Worker!”

  1. Rick Ripple Says:

    Let’s give praise for those who stand up and take their rightful place as Children of God, friends of Jesus John 15. Who act on faith and believe and give thanks to the faithful G-d. Let’s also obey Jesus when he told us to make this comment to the one
    recieving a gift…”the kingdom of Heaven has come near you.”
    Luke 10:9 and 11

    “Do it again daddy, do it again” John 12:28
    Father, glorify thy name. Then came there a voice from heaven, saying, I have both glorified it, and will glorify it again.
    Yahoo ! !

  2. Amen! I believe it! Good post! Pray for me. I’ve had a spinal cord injury for 6 1/2 years now. I believe God’s word. I just need to walk it out. I know that healing is just need some courage to claim it. Please pray for me.

  3. I really appreciate hearing that you needed to pray a second time…it has been lapsing in my brain of the time when Jesus healed a blind man and at first, the man saw men walking as trees, and then again he was able to see.
    It has been a scary walk(lack of faith, both self and others) since I have been walking alone most of the time and that there are so few that will allow the Word to be Real from them. I needed to find this site, and I did through FB. When I say, walking alone, it is not a figure of speech, but what I have been commanded to do for most of the last 15 years.

    I am headed west soon, should the Lord Will it, and if I do, by His Grace, I would love to meet you. The best and easiest way to reach me is through FB, since because of it, I hardly ever go to my e-mail account. I would love if we could keep in some sort of contact, as it is really, I mean, REALLY refreshing to see someone living Truth, as I am working to do daily.

    May the Peace of God be with you! Happy

Leave a Reply

