Simplifying The Gifts of The Spirit

When I first received Jesus as Savior I can recall sitting in the congregation of my church and watching the Pastor lay hands on the people who came to the altar to receive healing. As they were getting healed, I would think to myself, ‘wow, that gift of healing is amazing, I sure wish I had that gift.’ Yet because I didn’t have that gift (or so I thought), I would just sit in the pew week after week, while people all over the city were sick. Then a few months later, a visiting prophet came to our church, and astounded our congregation with accurate words of knowledge and encouraging prophetic words. So I thought to myself, ‘wow, his gift is truly amazing, imagine what it must be like to have a gift like that!’ Yet because I didn’t have the prophetic gift (or so I thought), I would sit in the pew week after week while hundreds of people around me were lonely, sad, and depressed, needing a word of encouragement.

Traditionally we have been taught that only the select few, spiritual elite can possess a spiritual gift. Someone like a Pastor or Bishop or Evangelist can have a gift of healing or miracles while the laypeople just go to church and watch them perform. Is this the blueprint of the New Testament? We come to church and be entertained by the person on stage, while we sit just there? This sounds more like a R&B concert than biblical Christianity.

During the charismatic revival of the 1970’s is when the gifts of the Spirit really hit the forefront of the Christian scene. It was during this time, prophecy, healing, and miracles, really went mainstream, being displayed in large churches, on radio, and broadcast on television. This is all based upon 1 Corinthians 12, which lists the 9 gifts of the Spirit: 3 are speaking gifts (prophecy, tongues, interpretation of tongues), 3 are revelation gifts (discernment, word of knowledge, word of wisdom), and 3 are power gifts (faith, healing, miracles).

Outside of 1 Corinthians 12-14, there is very little mention of spiritual gifts in the New Testament. Did Jesus ever teach about the gifts? The problem with the ‘gift’ teaching is that, how do you know if you have a spiritual gift? And if you don’t have a particular gift, then what do you do? Because I didn’t think I had the gift of healing, I would pass on people in my midst that I know needed healing. The traditional view of this teaching is that one person has a prophetic gift, another person has a gift of miracles, and another gets Words of knowledge, and someone else can interpret tongues. This is flat out wrong, and leads many people to just do nothing, because they are convinced they have not been equipped with a certain gift. I should know, because I was one of those people.

The true Bible teaching is that if you possess the Holy Spirit, that is the only gift you need. The Holy Spirit will allow you to meet the needs of anyone you come across at any time. If you come across a lady who has the bird flu, you don’t need to go run and find Bishop Apostle Rev. E.T. White, IV, you are fully equipped to lay hands and administer healing on the spot. The same thing goes with prophecy, and everything else. The Holy Spirit disperses the gifts as you need them.  

When I received this revelation, that just because I possessed the Holy Spirit, I already have access to all 9 gifts of the Spirit, I began to run with it. At the grocery store, when I saw a man with a sling on his arm, I laid hands on him to be healed. I began to give prophetic words to strangers and watch the Holy Spirit pour over them. I was truly on fire for God and began to demonstrate the kingdom of God wherever I went! This is the true meaning of operating in the Spirit. You have been given the authority to demonstrate the kingdom of God wherever your feet tread upon. The key is to not focus on possessing this gift or that gift, focus on the need of the person standing in front of you, and the Holy Spirit will do all the rest.

Now lets put 1 Corinthians back into perspective. The Corinthian church was a carnal church, they had all types of sin running rampant in the church, yet they still had these gifts operating in their midst. So for clarity, the Apostle Paul explains what these gifts were and how they work. Yet in the last verse of chapter 12, explaining these gifts he says, ‘yet I show unto you a more excellent way’. This is the way I am showing you. The very next chapter, I Corinthians 13 is known as the love chapter. Love is the secret key that actually unlocks all of these gifts. This is how Jesus did it, he was moved with compassion to heal people. Compassion is love in action. As you see people around you, in need of healing, an encouraging word, a financial need, or anything, you will have so much compassion it will move you to do something.

It’s not about you. It’s not about your gift. It’s all about the needs of the people, and God using you to minister to them.

Troy Anthony Smith is a successful entrepreneur and the founder of Demonstrate It, an organization that believes in healings, signs, and wonders. Mr. Smith currently resides in Hollywood,CA, where he can be found at the grocery stores, malls, and street corners, laying hands on the sick, casting out demons, and declaring the good news of the kingdom of God.

Have you purchased your copy of Demonstrate It:Unleashing Healing,Signs, and Wonders yet? On Sale now at Amazon.

2 Responses to “Simplifying The Gifts of The Spirit”

  1. […] you can move in all 9 gifts of the Spirit. If you desire to move in all the gifts of the Spirit, click here for an article I wrote a little while ago Simplifying the Gifts of the Spirit, about the key to […]

  2. Laquette Waters Says:

    AMEN

Leave a Reply

